GT3MVI - It's a wrap!

December 13, 2022  — 

Lukas, Arella, Stofmeel, Depraitere & Bulcke. 
Names inscribed into RRL history as winners of our most prestigious series - The Masters, having demonstrated excellence in their skill, resolve & mental fortitude to overcome all adversaries.

Season 61 would present the next trial for some of the most talented sim racers to pit their wits against one another as they gun for glory in their quest of being evaluated alongside these immortals.

Souls clambered to engage in this battle of the ages as hosts RRL prepared a stage like never before. Unbeknown to the drivers, Aston Barclay, a leading UK independent vehicle auction group, along with sim racing staple Crew Chief and RRL, would come together to offer up a substantial prize pool for the first time in the communities history.

All was set. 20 teams & 4 independent drivers would contest the Crew Chief GT3 Masters VI at the iconic tracks of Bathurst, Spa & Suzuka. Driver favourite Kyalami featured, Imola was introduced and also the new DLC of Watkins Glen & COTA were promoted onto the calendar.

Yet before any rubber got laid in anger, teams & drivers would reveal car choices & present their liveries to the world during a glamorous Livery Launch Week event, the likes of which had never been witnessed before within the confines of the community. A flex of muscle to intimidate any would-be contenders.

7 rounds ensued bringing sumptuous grids with sights and sounds to behold. Drama and incidents blotted numerous opening laps but an untold resilience overrid any thoughts of surrender as commitment and togetherness shone through. A live broadcast with narration from the best in the business, Hughesy, was the icing on top of this exceptionally baked cake of which all gladiators had a heroic tale to tell.

There would only be one Master though. One mercenary to weather the ailments of a formidable series and take their rightful place amongst the champion drivers of previous campaigns. Bram Depraitere makes history by becoming the first driver to be crowned Masters champion for the 2nd time after his previous success in GT3MIV.

Team WRT took a stranglehold on the teams championship, convincingly taking the title in the Audi R8 LMS Evo II.

The AM Cup was a closely fought affair but it was Jody Barrowclough who lifted the silver cup at Spa.

All staff involved in the execution of The Masters did an outstanding job and have left themselves quite a task to present another series like this, nevermind excel it, next year. But however good it is on paper, it takes you, our drivers, to bring it to life and give it the justice it deserved. It's fair to say you all contested this extraordinary series in a commendable spirit which has left us all eager for more.

written by: Simon Fillingham